Nip Drivers

The Nip Drivers were a trailblazing American punk rock band that left an indelible mark on the punk scene led by Mike Webber.

Formed in 1980 in Torrance, California, The Nip Drivers were a trailblazing American punk rock band that left an indelible mark on the punk scene.

Lead singer Mike Webber conceived the band, and its lineup, including guitarist Kurt Schellenbach, Janus Jones on bass, and Nick Passiglia on drums, experienced fluid changes over time. Renowned for their fast hardcore punk sound, The Nip Drivers infused humor into their music, all while challenging political correctness. Their repertoire extended beyond original compositions to include unexpected covers of pop hits like Olivia Newton-John’s “Have You Never Been Mellow,” Duran Duran’s “Rio,” and Sweet’s “Fox on the Run,” the latter featured on the 1984 film Desperate Teenage Lovedolls. The band even made a cameo appearance in the 1985 film Echo Park, starring Susan Dey and Tom Hulce.

Evolution and Reissues

Following a period of inactivity, Mike Webber revived The Nip Drivers in the 1990s with an all-new lineup. In 2000, their 1980s LPs saw a reissue on CD. In 1999, Mike embarked on an acoustic project called The Bob Drivers with Jula Bell, blending acoustic guitar and punk rock autoharp. The name cleverly combined “Bobsled” and “Nip Drivers” into “The Bob Drivers.” In 2001, Mike unveiled the last Nip Drivers lineup, supported by his other band, Marc Spitz Freestyle, with members like Jula Bell on bass and backing vocals, Greg Cameron on drums, and Dave Wakefield on guitar. They recorded four new Nip Driver songs slated for release in the winter of 2020. Tragically, Mike Webber passed away on November 11, 2006. The final Nip Drivers show, featuring Nip Drivers/MSF at the Liquid Kitty Punk Rock BBQ in West LA, occurred on August 13, 2006.


  • Destroy Whitey (12″ EP, 1984, New Alliance Records)
  • Oh Blessed Freak Show (LP, 1985, Bemisbrain/Enigma)
  • Nip Drivers (7” EP, 1990, No Reality—sometimes referred to as the ‘’Pretty Face’’ EP)
  • Dirt My Hole (7” EP, 1995, Fearless)
  • Destroy Whitey/Oh Blessed Freak Show (CD reissue, 2000, Taang! Records)

Compilation Appearances

  • Party or Go Home (1983, Mystic Records)
    • Includes “Tang”
  • Desperate Teenage Lovedolls (1984, Enigma)
    • Includes “Fox on the Run”
  • When Men were Men… and Sheep were Scared (1985, Bemisbrain)
    • Includes “Rio” and “E.Y.O.B.”

Similar Posts