Thought Riot

Thought Riot

Thought Riot, originating from California’s Central Valley, was a hardcore punk band with a focus on progressive political ideas in their lyrics. The band drew inspiration from the writings of philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche, often citing and paraphrasing his work in their songs.

Formation and Early Years

Formed in June 1997, Thought Riot initially comprised Marc Riot (guitar/vocals), Bryan Jones (bass), and Ben Harrison (drums). Over time, the lineup evolved with the additions of Josh and Mike, who brought new dimensions to the band’s sound. Notably, Josh contributed a second guitar and additional vocals, while Mike assumed bass duties. Subsequent changes in the lineup occurred in 1998, leading to the recording of a six-song demo titled “Our Six Best Takes.” Despite facing departures, Marc and Mike persevered in their songwriting efforts through 1999.

Lineup Changes and Demo Releases

In 2000, Kelley Dangerously joined the band as a guitarist, and Brian and Brad became part of the lineup playing guitar and drums, respectively. The same year saw the release of a demo EP titled “Bright Dreams For A Dark World.”

A-F Records Signing to 2006

In March 2001, Thought Riot signed to A-F Records. Their debut LP, “Shattered Mirror Syndrome,” was recorded in October 2001 and released on March 19, 2002. The band participated in the A-F Records/Fat Wreck Chords “Mobilize for Peace—” East Coast tour, sharing the stage with notable acts. Subsequent years brought lineup changes and tours, including the recording of “The Dangerous Doctrine Of Empathy” in 2003 and the release of their second LP, “Sketches Of Undying Will,” on November 18, 2003.

Intensive Touring and Disbandment

From 2004 to 2006, Thought Riot engaged in extensive touring, facing lineup changes along the way. Despite challenges, the band continued to create and perform. However, the journey concluded in October 2006 when Thought Riot disbanded.


  • Marc Riot – Lead Vocals (1997 – 2006/2007 and now a teacher)
  • Mike – Bass (1997–2006/2007)
  • Kelley Dangerously – Guitar, Vocals (2000 – 2006/2007)
  • Robby Goodson – Guitar, Vocals (2004–2006/2007)
  • Chad – Drums (? – 2006/2007)
  • Ben Harrison – Drums (1997–1998)
  • Bryan Jones – Bass, Vocals (1997–1998)
  • Josh Miller – Guitar, Vocals (1997–1998)
  • Brian Stark – Guitar (2000–2002)
  • Brad Stark – Drums (2000–2002)
  • Bryan Harrison – Guitar, Vocals (2002–2004)
  • Adam Parker – Drums, Vocals (2002–2004)
  • Paul Baker of Troubador – Drums (2004–2006)


Shattered Mirror Syndrome

  • Released: March 19, 2002
  • Breaking Old Tablets
  • All For God, And A Gun For All
  • Save The Humans
  • Encomienda
  • Sign Of The Times
  • American Deity
  • Patriot
  • Not Our Property
  • On Friends And Mistakes
  • Black Watch
  • Duality Of The Revolutionary
  • Pillow Over The Face As Therapy
  • Struggle

The Dangerous Doctrine of Empathy E.P.

  • Dangerous Doctrine of Empathy
  • Sepsis: Part One
  • Burning Too (Fugazi Cover)
  • The Plague (Redemption 87 Cover)

Sketches Of Undying Will

  • Released: November 18, 2003
  • With Love, The Underground
  • You’re Gonna Die
  • Glenview
  • On New Tablets
  • Homeland Insecurities
  • The Hermit Of Sils Maria
  • Cycle Of The Streets
  • Hard Words
  • I Voted For Nader
  • A Song In Response To…
  • Ink Soaked Pages
  • Walking Stick For The Weak

Similar Posts